Home Events RailStaff Awards: Meet the rail industry heroes of 2017

RailStaff Awards: Meet the rail industry heroes of 2017

With appearances from Madonna and Michael Jackson, a retro funfair and its own Club Topicana, the RailStaff Awards celebrated the industry’s unsung heroes with a party like no other.

Hundreds dressed in their finest – or in 1980s fancy dress – to celebrate the industry’s very best, from relative industry newcomers to experienced heads, signallers, station staff and those whose work has been affected by the tragedies of Grenfell Tower, the Manchester Arena bombing and the London bridge terror attack.

Congratulations to all category winners and thanks to our sponsors for their support.

The full list of winners is as follows: 

 Award categoryCategory sponsorName of winnerCompany
Apprentice of the YearAECOMRebecca MunroMott MacDonald
Depot Staff of the YearLand SheriffsKai GoheganSouthern
Graduate of the YearGTRConor Matontelent
Infrastructure or Plant Person or Team of the YearSPX FlowPositive Intervention to Control Exposure to Ballast DustVolkerRail
Lifetime Achievement AwardCostainScott HarrisonSPX Flow
Marketing and Communications Person or Team of the YearKeltbrayMarketing and Customer   Relations TeamMerseyrail
Outstanding Customer Service Awardtelent Technology   servicesNicola MayTransPennine Express
Project Manager of the YearNetwork   Certification BodyAmritpal BromCrossCountry
Rail Engineer of the YearPrimat RecruitmentAna WalpoleAECOM
Rail Manager of the YearARMNick ChadwickVirgin Trains
Rail Person of the YearBalfour BeattyArron RaimbaultNetwork Rail
Rail Safety Person of the YearRSSBAdrian Pattison and Mark NealFreightliner
Rail Team of the YearTotal Rail SolutionsDisaster Victim IdentificationBTP
RBF ‘Heart of Gold’ Award for CharityRBFPaula HilliardGTR
Recruiter / HR Person of the YearRailSportDanielle PeachFord & Stanley
Samaritans Lifesaver AwardSamaritansTek Malla and Purna GurungLand Sheriffs
Signalling & Telecommunications Person or Team of the YearWestermoIP Signalling Northern LNE Construction TeamNetwork Rail
Station Staff of the YearTransport Benevolent FundAdrian Suter and London Bridge TeamNetwork Rail
Train Driver of the YearLondon MidlandColin NewtonNorthern
Trainer or Training Team of the YearSeaton RailLearning and Development TeamGreater Anglia


Watch this space for details of the RailStaff Awards 2018!

Like this story? Click here to make a free subscription to one of our publications