HomeGeneral InterestWell-known faces receive New Year’s Honours

Well-known faces receive New Year’s Honours

Listen to this article

Several friends of RailStaff and Rail Media have been honoured in the New Year’s Honours List this year.

Martin Frobisher, Network Rail’s group safety and engineering director, received an OBE. He was a speaker at the last Rail Safety Summit and was awarded his honour for his work supporting the railway response to the coronavirus, the construction of the Nightingale hospitals and supporting the army reserves, in which he is a Major.

Martin Frobisher.

“This is completely unexpected – I am so surprised and extremely grateful to be included in the Queen’s New Year’s Honours list,” he said. “This was a real team effort and there were many people throughout Network Rail who helped to deliver this, so I want to say a massive thank you to them. This award belongs to the whole team. I am humbled to have worked alongside so many incredible people this year who did amazing work to help the NHS and keep the country moving.”

Loraine Martins is director of diversity and inclusion at Network Rail. She collaborated with RailStaff on its article ‘The changing faces of the railway’, which was the front-cover story in September/October 2020. She was awarded an OBE for her work over the last seven years presiding over improvements in diversity and inclusion at Network Rail that have led to a 30 per cent increase in the number of women at the organisation and a 40 per cent increase of Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic (BAME) employees.

Loraine Martins.

“I’m tremendously humbled to be included in the Queen’s New Year’s Honours list, so a big thank you to those involved in nominating me,” she commented. “I didn’t see this coming at all. I’m immensely grateful to my teams, past and present, and to all those who work with me at Network Rail and in our extended railway family.”

Andy Savage is the executive director of the Railway Heritage Trust, which he joined at the start of 2010. He has worked with RailStaff on a number of occasions, most recently as a judge for the Heritage category of the Network Rail Partnership Awards, which Rail Media helps to organise.

Having received an MBE for services to the rail industry and heritage, Andy commented: “I am delighted and honoured that Her Majesty has recognised my 52 years work on Britain’s railways, and my input to both main line and heritage sectors.

Andy Savage.

“I recognise that primarily the grant refers to my work in the last eleven years with the Railway Heritage Trust, and I would not have managed so much without the small team that has worked alongside me – I am immensely grateful to all four of my colleagues, as well as my fellow Directors and advisers, for what they have done for the RHT.”

Shane Andrews featured in RailStaff’s 2019 report on Archway – Network Rail’s LBGT+ network. His MBE recognised the work he and his colleagues have done to promote diversity inside the industry.

Shane Andrews.

“I am delighted to be recognised in the New Year’s Honours list,” Shane said. “It’s fair to say that many people in the LGBT+ community haven’t always viewed the railway as an attractive place to work, and so I am pleased to have played my part in improving diversity and inclusivity in this industry. Through my leadership of the Archway network, we will continue to ensure Network Rail is a great place to work for all and a place where everyone matters.”

Mark Hopwood, managing director of GWR and a sponsor of the 2019 RailStaff Awards, received a CBE. He started on the railway at the age of 17, answering calls in a British Rail Telephone Enquiry Bureau in Reading and has since held many roles, including being chairman of the National Rail Taskforce, where he helped to improve performance across all UK rail services and chairman of the National Rail Adhesion Group, looking at new ways to prevent delays from autumn leaf fall. He is a past president of the Railway Study Association and served for seven years on the board of the Institute of Railway Operators, which helps support and develop young talent in the railway. He remains a Fellow of that institution and of the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport.

Mark Hopwood.

Commenting on his award, Mark Hopwood said: “This is an honour that reflects the efforts of thousands of railway colleagues I have worked with throughout my 31-year career. The railway plays a part in the daily lives of millions, and I am very proud and delighted that my small contribution has been recognised in this way.”

Deputy Chief Constable Adrian Hanstock of the British Transport Police (BTP) was awarded the Queen’s Police Medal. He joined the BTP in 2014, since when he has provided outstanding operational leadership, whether tackling serious crimes, safeguarding vulnerable people or in response to major incidents. DCC Hanstock has also overseen the transformation of BTP and its investment in modern digital capabilities, enhanced approach to crime investigation and has embedded improvements in force standards. He has been active in strengthening the diversity of the force and has driven improvements in wellbeing services available for frontline officers and staff.

Adrian Hanstock.

“I am thrilled to receive this honour,” he commented. “The announcement is a wonderful surprise and to be awarded a QPM is an incredible privilege. The past year has presented some unimagined challenges however I am fortunate to work with some talented individuals and teams who every day dedicate their lives to protecting the public and seeking justice for those targeted by offenders, let alone tackle the extraordinary issues that 2020 presented.

“I would particularly like to acknowledge their exceptional professionalism and dedication to public service in accepting this award, as well as express my gratitude for the outstanding support of family and friends over the years.”

Sharon Sear.

Three other railway team members have received British Empire Medals (BEM). Sharon Sear and Mat Sullivan of London Underground received theirs in recognition of their work protecting transport staff and customers from the pandemic. Both, in different ways, helped organise and distribute vital protective equipment to London Underground workers, both to protect them from COVID-19 and to ensure that the trains kept running through the pandemic.

Mat Sullivan.

Mayor of London, Sadiq Khan, commented: “Our heroic transport workers – both those on the frontline and those working behind the scenes – have gone above and beyond throughout the pandemic to keep the network running.

“I’m delighted that Sharon and Mat have been recognised for their tireless work. Sourcing and distributing vast quantities of face coverings, hand sanitiser and other protective equipment was, and continues to be, essential to ensure public transport is as safe as it can possibly be.”

London Northwestern Railway senior conductor Robert Moore received his BEM for services to the community. He has worked on the railway for five years and volunteers as an assistant scout leader with the Sywell Air Scout Group in Northamptonshire in his spare time. The 38-year-old has also helped to establish a search and rescue team, teaches first aid through the British Heart Foundation and volunteers as a steward at his local football club.

Robert Moore.

“Following an incredibly difficult year for so many people it was humbling and a huge surprise to be recognised in this way for working with my local community,” he commented. “So many people have gone the extra mile over the past nine months and I know there are many out there who have done more than I have and I would pay tribute to them for their dedication.”